Pop Culture

Goodbye To A Friend I’ll Never Meet

“If only life could be a little more tender and art a little more robust.”


Alan Rickman passed away today after a short battle with cancer. Amazing tributes from celebrities who knew him have poured in. I have cried at all of them. I froze when I read the headline. I am saddened at the loss of such a stellar being, such an incredible talent.

I find it so amazing that we can become attached to people whom we’ve never met. I feel that there are some folks with certain temperaments or personality types who will gravitate towards this dissociative pattern of attachment, but I haven’t done any testing about that theory (yet). I am one of those people who can become attached to, and quite frankly, love someone I’ve never interacted with. Please don’t get me started on the rabbit hole that is Benedict Cumberbatch… I did cry when Robin Williams and Philip Seymour Hoffman both took their own lives; such tragedies stole some of my favorite childhood actors away from me, and touched upon a dark subject I know far too well.

Now my love for Alan Rickman isn’t onย thatย level, but I’m sure people do indeed feel that way about him. I have grown up with his amazing portrayal of Severus Snape, and in my adulthood came to love his outlook on life. He will forever be Professor Snape to me, and I think the world will be just a bit dimmer in his absence. My prayers will be with his family and friends, and the fans, who lost a friend they’d never met.

Always,
Heidi

Leave a Reply

