Heidi Makes: Overnight Oats

Overnight oats sounded horribly disgusting the first time I heard of them. My best friend Lauren swears by them, as her husband makes delicious food 110% of the time. I think I might have tried some at her house one day, but overall I wanted to stay very far away from cold, waterlogged oatmeal.

Until I made some myself.

Now its been a process; I love hot oatmeal, so adjusting to cold oats seemed intimidating. But the delightful flavor won me over. In addition to oatmeal, I love peanut butter. Like eat-it-by-the-spoonful, love it. My first attempt at overnight oats was simple peanut butter oats, conveniently made right in a semi-empty peanut butter jar! There are a ton of flavor combos you can try (I’m pretty certain I’ve pinned a million of them), but so far I’ve only tried three; peanut butter, apple cinnamon, and pb&j.

Apple cinnamon came out gross, but I think that was because I used a cinnamon apple mixture rather than fresh apples. I added nuts for protein as well. I don’t remember the measurements for that one, but like I said, Pinterest is my recipe book.

Today I made ‘PB&J’ oats, which is just peanut butter oats with raspberries added in.

1 peanut butter jar with leftover peanut butter
3/4 cup regular oats
1/2 cup 1% milk
1 tbsp additional peanut butter
1 tsp cocoa powder
A dash of cinnamon
A handful of frozen (or fresh) raspberries

I don’t have pretty photos of this one, but I’ll let you know how it tastes tomorrow!

xoxo
Heidi

Leave a Reply

