Short Stack Series: Joy

IMG_4574
Featured on Instagram

J O Y // Today was one of those days, you know the ones; you have to really look for the joy… Tired on a Friday that begins with cranky students before we even hit the classroom. I began working on this graphic while I was waiting for students to arrive, not knowing how draining the day ahead was going to turn out. God knew, though, and He gifted me with this verse before the crazy day began.

Always be joyful. Never stop praying. Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus. – 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

I only realized it after I got home, called my momma, complained for an hour, then realized I had skipped telling her about the part of the day where I laughed with people I love. I had to backtrack to find the joy!

As draining as it was, today also included an amazing gift of free hot coffee, hot cocoa, apple cider, tea, muffins, and honey buns. It included a hilarious faculty Minute-To-Win-It, which included me stuffing 18 marshmallows in my mouth and winning the cookie eating contest where my coworker had to feed me cookies while sitting behind me. I know, you’re jealous.

And as usual, my day included going to work at a place I love with people I love. It included my still-functioning vehicle, my tiny apartment, my dog who loves me even when I spank her for eating poop, extra money from an aunt that I can use towards medical bills. Today will probably end with some sushi and rosé because the leftovers in the fridge can be lunch next week and we get paid Monday!

What was your joy today?

xoxo
Heidi

One thought on “Short Stack Series: Joy

Leave a Reply

