Food

Heidi Makes: Chicken Caprese

I was overly excited about this dinner. I love chicken, I love cheese, I love tomatoes. Really, caprese salad of any kind is my favorite. The Hub in North Adams makes my absolute favorite version, but sadly I cannot drive 1,100 miles for salad. Ergo, I embarked on making my own tonight as a fun endeavor for me and the dog. She just sat around waiting for me to feed her scraps, but she’s good company nonetheless. Plus, if its bad, she can’t tell me and eats it anyway πŸ˜‰

I cooked 4 chicken breasts, used 1 on-the-vine tomato, and shredded mozz because this is the poor gal’s version. I forgot to grab basil, so I sprinkled some Italian seasoning on to console myself.

4 large boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 or 2 medium tomato(es) on the vine
1/2 cup of shredded low moisture mozzarella cheese
Italian seasoning to taste
Balsamic vinaigrette to taste

Sprinkle seasoning on raw chicken
Bake @ 400F for 30 minutes
Add cheese to each breast
Add tomato slices to each breast
Sprinkle extra cheese on top of tomato slices if you’re feeling fiesty
Bake another 10 minutes
Drizzle balsamic vinaigrette to taste

I cooked up some whole wheat spaghetti this time. And had a glass of wine. Next time I’ll probably get some spring greens and make an actual salad! Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo
Heidi

Leave a Reply

