Faith

Surrender Isn’t Always A White Flag

When things aren’t going well, when my life is less than stellar, I always turn to God to take over and fix things. Lately, in this season of growth and productivity in my life, I’ve been considering this; How often do we consider surrendering things to God when they’re good?

I am completely a victim of a prayer life that revolves around me, myself, and I. When life is going down the drain, usually due to poor choices made by yours truly, I am 100% on my knees calling out to God for help. Conversely, when things are going well, I tend to toss my prayers to the wind like discarded pieces of paper. I become careless, reckless, and selfish with my choices. And guess where that leads me? Right back to those poor choices that leave me defeated again. It is a vicious cycle that I get stuck in frequently.

I’ve begun to purposefully seek God in my times of overflowing goodness just as ardently as I seek Him when I’m struggling. It is the biggest form of surrender in my life; giving even the good things up to God. It felt strange when I started, but it has been such a great source of freedom for me. By giving everything, good and bad, to God, it released me from the responsibility of maintaining that situation. It keeps God as the foundation of my life in all areas and aspects.

My ever-intelligent man loves the book of Job. Job’s struggle is extreme, but I think it resonates with many who have struggled far more than they should in this life. In actually reading Job, I came across this verse that always gets used at funerals, and should really always be applied to every day life.

He said, “I came naked from my mother’s womb, and I will be naked when I leave. The LORD gave me what I had, and the LORD has taken it away. Praise the name of the LORD!” – Job 1:21

Job was given everything, and had everything taken away from him. Now normally this story is used to teach reverence and faith in God’s power; I’ve been using it to remind myself that everything I have is God’s. I own nothing of what I have, the good and the bad, it all belongs to Him. Why would I blame Him for bad things and not give Him credit for good things?! And why in the world would I try to maintain the good things He has given me?! All I’ll do is mess that up in big, big ways!

It isn’t always easy, but it makes life infinitely sweeter. I encourage you to take a look and see how often you give your good things to God. Let Him know you’re not only thankful for the goodness, but that you recognize it comes from Him as well!

xoxo
Heidi

 

2 thoughts on “Surrender Isn’t Always A White Flag”

Leave a Reply

