Me, Mercy, and I

Tonight during prayer, the word ‘mercy’ was given to me. I am not always merciful. I am harsh, quick to judge, and downright mean if I let myself go too far. I rule with a memory that forgets very little. But tonight, as I knelt in surrendered prayer, as I asked God to speak to me, He gave me ‘mercy’.

You must be compassionate, just as your Father is compassionate. – Luke 6:36 NLT

And I knew what I had to do. I knew whom I needed to extend mercy and grace an forgiveness and peace to. I knew. And honestly, it was awful. It was bitter ash in my mouth as I spoke it. It hurt my stomach. It made my skin crawl. To release them into God’s hands and to actually pray for their well-being was gross. But it was absolutely what needed to happen.

In the next few months, I’ll be opening up about some of my story, and this post will eventually be a little less vague. For now, just remember that sometimes the whispers God gives you might not be easy, fun, or exciting. But they will be worth it.

xoxo
Heidi

Leave a Reply

